Making Dinner Out of Nothing

It’s that time of month again.

The time when the fridge is completely empty except for a few random jars of… randomness. And a few rubbery carrots. Time when a trip to the grocery store is sorely needed.

I actually enjoy this time of month. I get a secret, crazy thrill out of finding a way to make a meal out of nothing. I think it’s really fun, like solving a puzzle. Is anyone out there with me on this? Anyone?

Anyway, today I was looking at some leftover cream cheese and frozen chicken breasts. The only vegetables we had left were some old carrots, and I refuse to make a meal without any vegetables. There was also a can of cream of mushroom soup in the pantry.

So this is what I came up with:

I used some home ground whole wheat flour to whip up some rolls and wrapped the dough, croissant style, around some shredded chicken mixed with cream cheese (my sister made something like this for me years ago when we were in college and I’ve had it stored in my memory until now.) Each roll was covered with cream of mushroom soup for a sauce. Then, for the side, I chopped up the carrots, cooked them, and coated them with a brown sugar glaze.

Josh liked it a lot, thereby making dinner a success.

I felt pretty good about it. Good enough to go to the grocery store.

2 Responses to “Making Dinner Out of Nothing”

  1. Tomoko Says:

    残っているもので料理するのは、すばらしい才能です。
    私は、きのう大根の皮と人参と、ブロッコリーの茎をせんぎりにして
    きんぴらをつくりました。
    冷蔵庫を空(から)にしてから新しい食材(しょくざい)を買うのは
    気持ちがいいよね!

  2. Annie Says:

    I love you, Sayaka! That sounds like a great meal. We like to make soup with all the left-overs at the end of the week.
    ~a

Leave a Reply

