Redboxing It

We’ve been going on sort of a redbox spree lately and I felt like reviewing some of the movies we’ve seen.

Have you noticed there are a lot of rated G and PG movies at redbox right now? Those are usually pretty rare. I’m wary of rated G and PG movies… there’s a chance that it will be really cute and make you feel warm and fuzzy inside, but there’s also a chance that it will bore you to tears and/or make you want to rip something apart and throw it at the screen.

Anyway, here are my thoughts:

New Moon

I knew this movie was going to be terrible when I borrowed it, but it’s just one of those movies I have to see once just because I’ve read the book and I have to see what they do. This movie took after its prequel, Twilight, in its super slow pace, lots of unnecessary breathing, and mumbling actors. Honestly, I think the series would be much improved if they got rid of the main actress, Kristen Stewart. I hate to say it but her dialogue is always one-dimensional, whether she’s supposed to be happy or upset. And her frequent pauses are enough to drive me insane over and over. Josh and I found ourselves constantly groaning in disbelief. I think some of the actors, like certain members of the Cullen family, actually do a good job. And seeing what they did with the Volturi was admittedly kind of fun. And we did actually laugh out loud in the movie theater scene– I think they were successful in a “so stupid it’s funny” way. “Do you want to go see… Face Punch?” Haha.

The Princess and the Frog

I always enjoy Disney movies. They know how to create a charm that other animators just can’t achieve. I thought the voice acting in this movie was great and enjoyed the jazz music. Although the music wasn’t quite as catchy as some of Disney’s older classics, it was still entertaining. I’m not sure how effectively the message to put your needs ahead of your wants will get through to kids. The plot was pretty predictable, at least for me, and I’m not just talking about how the prince and princess end up happily ever after. But hey, it’s a kids’ movie.

Hachi

I had to see this movie because I’ve known the story since I was a little kid. Being a fairly simple story, I knew it was probably going to be a really slow moving movie, and I was right. But I did like how they stuck to the story and didn’t add anything extra that was weird. There was too much repetition for my liking but I think they were successful in getting across the likability and tenderness of the characters. Also Akita dogs are absolutely adorable. What is it with Richard Gere being interested in redoing Japanese movies/stories? He also did Shall We Dance a few years ago. Maybe it has something to do with him being Buddhist.

Where the Wild Things Are

This was a much anticipated movie for me because, c’mon, it’s pretty much one of the best children’s books ever. Although I was skeptical about how they were going to turn 48 pages of scant words into a full-length movie, I was actually pleased with how much they stuck to the plot and dialogue in the book. I thought they did a good job of capturing childishness in each of the “things,” each representing a different personality in a real given group of kids playing together. I also appreciated the unexpected bursts of random humor. There’s a lot of artistic direction in this movie and if you’re not really an artsy type you might think this movie is too slow.

2012

This was a crowd-pleaser movie: lots of action and very entertaining. I’m not sure about the love story they tried to stick in there but the scenes of destruction (and there were a lot of them) were pretty cool. The close calls were always ridiculously too close, but hey, that’s entertainment. We liked how they had obviously done their research on the end of the world because we noticed they stayed fairly accurate according to things written in the book of Revelations. I haven’t read much of other holy texts but I imagine they did a bit of research in those as well.

Ponyo

Being Hayao Miyazaki fans, we couldn’t pass this movie up, even though I’d heard that’s it’s too “little kid” compared to his other films. And it mostly was– the “little mermaid” story was pretty weak. The animation also didn’t seem as detailed as Miyazaki’s other hits. But there was definitely still a lot of weirdness and Miyazaki’s twisted way of thinking showed through, which I enjoyed. Yukiko, I don’t think you would like this. There’s a lot of ugly, swarming fish in this movie.

Surrogates

I actually enjoyed this movie a lot. It was a depiction of what might happen if technology advanced to the extreme of actually using fake bodies to socialize and work and pretty much do everything. I thought the plot was well filled in without gaps or anything extra, even though it was really predictable (or maybe I’m just really good at predicting, haha.) I also liked how the moral issues at hand were well addressed and stayed the focus of the movie. Very entertaining.

3 Responses to “Redboxing It”

  1. Hatsuho Says:

    Wow, that’s more movies than I’ve seen in the past 2 years:) thanks for the reviews!

  2. Yukiko Says:

    Actually, I saw Ponyo and liked it… I just had to close my eyes sometimes. I had the Ponyo theme song stuck in my head for weeks afterward.

  3. mich Says:

    twilight was, well , laaaame! I got so bored i left the movie playing while brody finished it i think hahaha

Leave a Reply

