Banana Won Tons

Banana won tons. I just made up the name for the post title’s sake and I’m not sure how much I like it. If you can think of a better name for these things, be my guest.

My momma made these up one day and they’ve been hanging around the family ever since.

These are seriously sooo good, AND they are the easiest things to make. Ever. (Almost.)

You only need three ingredients:

Cinnamon, ripe (or overripe) bananas, and won ton wrappers.

OK, so you also need a little bit of cooking oil and water. If you don’t have those things, you seriously need to go grocery shopping. And please move to a location where water is readily available to you so you don’t die.

Start out by breaking the bananas into pieces into a bowl. How many bananas you use depends on how many banana won tons you want to end up with in the end. I used two because that’s all I had.

Mash them up with a fork.

Sprinkle in as much cinnamon as you think you should. I probably used about a tablespoon of it. But I really like cinnamon.

Mix it all together into a brown, gooey mess.

Now, get some won ton wrappers ready.

You’ll also want a small container of water on the side.

Take one sheet…

…and spoon (or fork) some of the banana mixture onto it. Just use the fork you used to mash up the bananas, OK? There’s no need to dirty a spoon too. Unless you really like washing spoons. Then by all means, use as many spoons as you want.

Now we’re going to roll it up like a little tiny egg roll. Or burrito. Whichever one you relate to more.

Fold up the bottom corner,…

…fold in the sides,…

…then roll it up the rest of the way. Remember that little container of water? Dip a finger into it and dab some water onto the last (top) corner before you roll it up completely. This seals it up really nicely.

Continue making these little rolls until you either a.) run out of banana filling or b.) run out of won ton wrappers. Or, if you’re my mom, you c.) run out of both at the exact same time.

As for me, I ran out of banana filling. If this happens to you, make sure you store the rest of the wrappers in an airtight container. If you don’t, I promise you, you will have stale won ton wrappers the next day. These wrappers are a great thing to have around. You can fill them with anything you have left over, fry them, and people will think you’ve made something fancy.

Now, pour a thin layer of cooking oil into a frying pan and turn on the heat. I used canola oil.

When the oil is hot, drop as many rolls as you can fit into it. You know it’s hot enough if the oil sizzles. Turn the heat down pretty low; these things cook pretty quickly.

When they start to turn golden brown underneath flip them over with some chopsticks.

Mmm, those really brown ones on the left look really good.

They’re finished when both sides are golden brown. Place the finished rolls on a plate lined with paper towels to soak up the excess oil. We just barely ran out of paper towels so I used a tea towel instead.

Finish cooking the rest of the rolls.

Make sure you let them cool for a few minutes, especially if you have a husband like mine who always forgets to blow on things before he puts them in his mouth. But also try to eat them soon because they start losing their crispiness after a while.

And there you have it! So easy, right? And always a crowd pleaser.

Try them today!

Tags:

13 Responses to “Banana Won Tons”

  1. Annie Says:

    Oh Syaka, I am so glad you married Josh. You have brought some fun culture into our family. (you are family, you know, by virtue of marrying that boy, who is my adopted son)
    Thank you for the fun tutorial.❤
    ~a

  2. Annie Says:

    Sayaka, sorry to have spelled it wrong. . .

  3. Hatsuho Says:

    I don’t remember ever eating those…? Looks pretty good though

  4. jared henderson Says:

    Love that recipe. So simple. Looks like I need to find some water and gyoza strips so I can make asparagus tip prosccuitto cheese dumplings

  5. Nijiko Says:

    I make these a lot over here if I ever have bananas haha. I add brown sugar to the cinnamon mix too, even though it’s already pretty sweet by itself. I found out from my friend that it’s actually a Filipino dish called banana lumpia.

  6. Yukiko Says:

    ohh, i’ve never mashed it up, i just put little slices of banana in each one, and use a cinnamon-sugar mixture. good stuff.

  7. Tomoko Says:

    Good job! Sayaka.
    I used make those food with Nijiko a lot.
    It’s also good to lap like Apple& cinnamon, Shrimp&cheese, Renkon&cheese , chickin&onion&cheese…cut those like stick.( Banana, apple, cheese, renkon and chikin. )

  8. stanley Says:

    Salad = slice red bell pepper;slice purple onion;radish;carrot sliced;horse radish;ginger or what ever is around;dejohn mustard;2T olive oil=serves one at breckfast

  9. Kira Neuenswander Says:

    Sayaka, they are actually called “Turon” in Tagalog. It’s delicious and a favorite for kids to get as snacks on their way home from school.🙂

  10. annie Says:

    OK, my bananas all burst the wraps and left them hollow. What did I do wrong???

    • sayaka Says:

      Anita, my mom and sister actually told me that instead of mashing the bananas, they cut them into slices. Which I think is a really good idea because sliced bananas would be way easier to roll up snugly in the won ton wrappers. The key is to make sure everything is sealed up well. Make sure you use water to make the wrapper stick to itself.

      Sorry it didn’t work out… I wish I’d known about the slicing earlier too.

Leave a Reply

