Things Forgotten

Remember when you were in grade school and knew all sorts of cool things that you don’t know now?

I used to be able to tell you the capital of any U.S. state at the drop of a hat. I used to be able to identify leaves, dinosaurs, and rocks. I knew all the countries in Africa. I knew the names of all the bones and muscles in the body. I could tell you all the parts of the inner ear and the eyeball. I knew the names of all the battles in the Revolutionary War. Where did all that information go?

Then there were the texts I had memorized. I used to know the Gettysburg Address, the balcony scene in Romeo and Juliet,  and Hamlet’s famous soliloquy all by heart. Only bits and pieces remain in my memory now.

I thought I’d dedicate today to remembering our grade school education, and in honor of that, I thought we could all relearn the preamble to the Constitution— because that’s something that, living in this country, we should always remember. We should know by heart the reason why the founders set down the laws that they did. Why this country has striven for this long. Let us remember and not let it be trodden underfoot and forgotten.

We the people of the United States, in order to form a more perfect union, establish justice, insure domestic tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general welfare, and secure the blessings of liberty to ourselves and our posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

Here’s a video that has helped me keep it memorized for this long:

I love School House Rock.

One Response to “Things Forgotten”

  1. Yukiko Says:

    I have the School House Rock DVD! It’s the best

Leave a Reply

