Why I Chose Natural Childbirth

I realize posts have been scarce this past week. I have a good reason though, I promise! Ready for it?

We had an unexpected surprise… our baby girl was born three weeks early, last Thursday! I don’t intend for this blog to publicly document all of our baby’s milestones and discuss child raising in detail; there are plenty of blogs out there for that if that’s what you’re looking for. But I thought it was important to let you all know that Trailer 29 officially has a third resident🙂

Here’s a peek at her:

Josh and I have always been fans of avoiding unnecessary medications and treatments, especially when nature has provided superior means of taking care of itself. So following those same guidelines, I knew I wanted to go natural when I had a baby. We found a fantastic certified nurse midwife in town who was willing to use whatever methods we desired and who didn’t seem like she would try to push unnecessary procedures and treatments on us. She really proved herself– I totally recommend going with a nurse midwife if you haven’t already or are trying to decide.

I think when it comes to pregnancy there is just so much paranoia and hype about everything that a lot of people go overboard on medications and treatments for every little thing. Then, the more complicated you make things, the more side effects there are and the more helpless you feel about the whole situation. Women have been giving birth since the beginning of time without all those extra things. It’s naturally in their capability and proves the enormous amount of strength they uniquely have. Now that the world is getting rid of that empowerment by making labor and delivery easy, I think women are losing confidence in themselves. They have no idea how much their bodies are able to do.

I am woman. Hear me roar! Heh heh.

Anyway, I did it. I refused all anesthetics, went through all the grunting and screaming and suicidal thoughts, and had our little girl. It’s crazy. There is pretty much nothing pleasant about the process; the horrible contractions keep coming and you dread them one after another, you feel like you want to die, you let go of all of your sanity. Then there you are with no dignity left, not even caring that you’re sweating and screaming and contorting your face grotesquely, butt naked, in front of a bunch of strangers. That’s the hard truth. But somehow, it’s all possible, and in the end, you know you did it all. You feel and remember all the little details; it’s not, “oh! Did the baby come out already? Sweet!” It takes a ton of courage and you do sort of get a rush from it.

One thing is for sure though. I will never ever judge someone who wanted to go unmedicated but caved in to the pain and got an epidural after all. They are still champions.

I guess these days most RN’s hardly ever get to witness a natural birth. There were quite a few young nurses and assistants in the room with me and they all came up to me individually afterward and reverently told me how great they thought I was. Some of them even gave me hugs. Kind of awkward, but if it inspired them, then cool.

I didn’t even know about the extra benefits of an unmedicated birth like quicker recovery time, less back pain, more aware baby, etc., but I guess it goes to show that nature knows how to take care of itself.

Here’s a short video that helps explain some of my feelings:

2 Responses to “Why I Chose Natural Childbirth”

  1. Annie Says:

    I think you are a brave woman. I had all mine natural too. I never did get to experience the epidural thing, the nurse who administers it was out of town.

    It reminds me of this

    In this episode all the room mates in the semi-private room come in and out while Rachel stays there not progressing at all. my favorite part is the little petite Asian woman comes in: Here is the dialog. I wish I could find the clip, it is very cute

    Ross: The nurse said they’re bringing in another woman.

    Rachel: Ugh, is she pregnant yet? She doesn’t need to be; she’ll still have the baby before I do. Oh Ross, another contraction! (Leans back on Ross for some support.)

    Ross: That’s it. That’s it.

    (The next couple enters.)

    Woman: Oooh, that sounded like a bad one.

    Rachel: Yeah it was.

    Woman: Mine haven’t been so bad. Oh! Here comes one now. (Hums then squeals a little bit.) Oh, that was a big one!

    (Rachel motions for Ross to close the privacy screen, which he does.)

    anyway congratulations. I’m proud of you
    ~a

  2. Halley Says:

    I totally agree with you. Levi was born all natural with the help of a midwife. She was awesome. I was amazed at what I could do… and so was Jared.🙂 Congratulations again and take care of yourself. This is a beautiful time, but definitely trying. Good luck and take care!

Leave a Reply

