Whole Wheat Lemon Poppy Seed Mini Muffins

The sad truth is we don’t have a working oven here at Trailer 29. We kind of have one, but Josh accidentally snapped the knob off of it during the hullabaloo of tearing and fixing the whole place up, as you can see below.

No knob😦

Honestly though, I don’t think I would use this oven even if it did work. We just like to keep it closed and pretend it’s not there.

Not having an oven is sad because a.) I love to bake, and b.) Josh is pretty much Cookie Monster reincarnate. But we also know that newlyweds aren’t supposed to start out with everything they could possibly need so we’re happy to work up to getting a new oven someday. It will be a joyous occasion. Tears will be shed.

Luckily for us, we have this little toaster oven, which is a gift from my sister-in-law. And guess what?

It has a “bake” setting. So actually, I can bake small batches of stuff. We’re not completely deprived of baked goodies after all!

The other day I scored these rad mini muffin pans at D.I., fifty cents for the set. The perfect size for a tiny oven. I also bought a thing of poppy seeds recently which I’ve been really eager to use. So today seemed like a good day to try making some lemon poppy seed mini muffins. (I think mini is better anyway. Big muffins are such a commitment to eat sometimes.)

So here are all the dry ingredients: whole wheat flour, all-purpose flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and poppy seeds.

We’re really into grinding our own whole wheat flour here and we try not to touch the white stuff if we can help it, but whole wheat flour tends to be really heavy, and for recipes that need to turn out light and fluffy in any way, I have no choice but to partially use white flour. Don’t tell Josh it’s in there… he might not like these as much if he knew.

If I had a sifter, and if I cared, I would probably sift all of these ingredients together first (minus the poppy seeds.)

As it stands, however, I just stirred it all together with a fork.

Now break an egg into a separate bowl…

…and beat the crap out of it with a fork. (Yes, I read The Pioneer Woman, and it’s hard not to be influenced by her.)

I just used the same fork I used to stir the dry ingredients together. The fewer forks you have to wash in the process, the better.

Now add milk, canola oil, and lemon juice. There happened to be one lemon wedge left over in the fridge from a taco dinner we had a little while ago, so I zested some of the peel into it as well. Sometimes I try to be all fancy like that.

Mix all the wet ingredients together and dump them into the dry mixture.

Then mix everything together until combined. Yes, with that same fork still.

Use a cookie scoop to fill the greased muffin pans (if you don’t have a cookie scoop yet, you really need to go get one ASAP, OK? You’ll love your life so much better.) Now throw them into a 400 degree oven (how the heck do you make the degree sign on the keyboard?) for 10 minutes.

In the meantime, wash your dirty dishes. My momma always told me that you’re not a good chef unless you clean as you go.

Watch your beauties rise in the oven. This is one of my favorite pastimes; better than any TV show.

OK, these are actually a little too done. For the next batch, I’m taking it down to 375 degrees.

Perfect!

And really really yummy. The perfect size too (for disappearing much too quickly.)

I hope you all enjoyed my first attempt at step-by-step photographing/explaining a recipe. It was actually kind of fun. And helps me bond with our camera a little more.

Here’s the recipe:

Whole Wheat Lemon Poppy Seed Mini Muffins

1 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon poppy seeds

1 egg

3/4 cup milk

1/4 cup canola oil

1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice

optional: zest of lemon

1. In a medium bowl, stir all the dry ingredients together. Make a well in the center if you want; set aside.

2. In a small bowl, beat the egg, then add the rest of the ingredients. Mix it all together.

3. Pour the egg mixture into the flour mixture and mix until everything is combined.

4. Scoop the batter into greased muffin pans. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 10 minutes.

Makes about 32 mini muffins.

Tags:

5 Responses to “Whole Wheat Lemon Poppy Seed Mini Muffins”

  1. Yukiko Says:

    I’m the first ever to post!

    And you have a microplane zester! I just got one too… plus a cast iron skillet! That PW is seriously influential. She’s like the Oprah of foodies. Anyway, your photos are good! I need to put more effort into utilizing my camera.

  2. Hatsuho Says:

    We didn’t have a full-size oven the first 6 months of our marriage. We made do with our toaster oven, microwave, crockpot, waffle maker, and electric griddle.

    I think we missed having a dishwasher and a full-size sink more than we missed the oven.

    • sayaka Says:

      Oh yeah, I remember that place. The toaster oven does pretty well, especially just for two people. I just wish more of my baking pans fit in it.

      Our dishwasher is another one of those that we keep closed and pretend it doesn’t exist…

  3. mich Says:

    i’m glad u made one of my kittens be part of your blog title, must be Cloud since its not a round enough to be Ninja😉

  4. veronica Says:

    i wish my dad made stuff like you, or at least got some supplies so that I could, those look good.😀

Leave a Reply

