Photoshop Savvy (Not Really)

So most of you probably know about Photoshop, which is a really awesome program, and it would be even more awesome if I actually knew how to use it.

I was so excited to have it on our computer. I had visions of happily whipping up tons of beautiful, professional-looking photographs for the rest of my life. Unfortunately, I found out that just because you have the software doesn’t mean you automatically know how to work it. I usually end up randomly clicking on a bunch of different things and making the photograph look way worse than if I’d just left it alone in the first place.

My husband knows how to use it. He took a college course on it. He has tried to patiently explain to me how to use its most basic functions. But all the information just seems to go in one ear and out the other.

Does anybody out there relate to this? Or am I just incredibly slow?

Fortunately, our hero, the Pioneer Woman, has already thought of a solution for those of us who are Photoshop-challenged. Enter Pioneer Woman’s Action Sets 1 and 2.

All you have to do is download them, open up your photograph in Photoshop, and click on the action you want.

To test it out, I used this picture of my baby girl:

This is the straight-out-of-camera shot, or the SOOC. (Hehe I am so cool because I just said SOOC.)

Then, with just the click of a button, you can do all these other things to it:

boost

warmer

vintage

seventies

sepia tone

b&w beauty

quick edge burn

fresh and colorful

old west

lovely and ethereal

colorized

Seriously you guys, it’s really easy and really fun. There are even more actions than the ones I showed you but those were the ones I liked with this photo. I highly recommend downloading it if you’re like me and don’t feel like putting in the time required for a real Photoshop education right now.

The Pioneer Woman does it again. Darn her. And bless her.

2 Responses to “Photoshop Savvy (Not Really)”

  1. Hatsuho Says:

    I’ve had those actions for awhile, and haven’t liked them much. There’s another website called totally rad actions that has some free stuff too ( or they used to). Chris is really good at Photoshop. For me, it’s not worth the time. If I need to edit photos, I just do it right in iPhoto.

  2. Tomoko Says:

    soooooo cute!
    I like the picture “warmer” and “quick edge burn”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

